RSS

Ahh, processed food. Get in my belly!

17 Apr

This past Friday (the 13th) was my birthday, the big 33. Or not. Anyway, it was as good an excuse as any to go on a weekend trip, so away we went to Dublin! This post isn’t really going to be about Dublin, though. One of the downsides to living in a little country with little houses and little supermarkets is that they can’t carry everything I’m used to eating. Normally, this does not faze me, as there are plenty of Dutch treats that I’ll miss if/when we ever leave here. I’m looking at you, Stroopwaffles, and your glorious cousin, the Stroopwaffle McFlurry.

While walking around Dublin, we came upon a decently-sized Tesco, and decided to, as the Dutch would say “rondkijken” (look around). Our efforts were failing miserably when we turned down the last aisle. There, in the cooler, glowed the yellowish-green bottle that was the #1 object of my desires. Drinkable Gold. Liquid Sunshine. The OTHER substance that got me through college. Mountain Dew. I picked up a bottle, just as my wife discovered another delicious bit of processed goodness. Rice Krispies Treats.

“But Jason”, you say, because you talk out-loud to your computer like I do, “can’t you just make Rice Krispies Treats on your own?” Why, dear faceless blog reader, if only it were that simple. Not only are Marsh-mellows somewhat rare here in the Low Countries, but Rice Krispies themselves are found only at specialty expat grocers, who charge a premium for them (as much as €9 per box!).

Over the course of our visit to Dublin, we made plenty of stops in to various Tesco, Tesco Express, and Spar locations. When I think back on Dublin, I’ll think of Mountain Dew and Rice Krispies Treats (plus a wee bit o the Guinness). Happy Birthday, indeed!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 17, 2012 in Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Ahh, processed food. Get in my belly!

  1. larryorsborn

    April 20, 2012 at 11:19

    Long time reader, first time commenter. First and foremost, HAPPY BIRTHDAY 🙂 Sounds like you had a great time. I appreciate your blog and always look forward to an update. I am moving to Amsterdam next year and I learn a lot from reading your posts. It also excites me to get a taste of my adventure to come. Thank You so much and keep up the great posts.

    Larry

     
    • thedewaddict

      April 23, 2012 at 10:07

      Hi Larry, thanks! If you have any questions about moving to Amsterdam, please let me know. I’m happy to help where I can.

       

Leave a Reply

 
