RSS

Thanksgiving

09 Dec

Yes, I know Thanksgiving was 2 weeks ago. However, we didn’t celebrate it until that Saturday, and I flew to Germany very early the next morning. This is the first opportunity I’ve had to review the pictures and talk about it.

Last year, Thanksgiving was the first major holiday we experienced in Amsterdam. Of course, it’s not a holiday here. We went to Hard Rock Cafe for the traditional meal. While it was fine, it just wasn’t the same as cooking at home and dining with a group of people. So this year, we invited some friends over and introduced to them to how Americans spend their Thursdays in late November.

Our group was 4 Americans (including us), 2 Brits, 1 Irish, 1 Dutchie, 1 Kiwi, and 1 South African (plus another Kiwi via Skype). My wife (with some help from me) made a traditional Thanksgiving meal of turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, cranberry sauce, green bean casserole, bread rolls, and apple pie. Plus, she added in a pumpkin cheesecake with the crust made from Speculaas cookies. Add in ample amounts of wine and Heineken, and a good time was had by all. I decided to try my hand at food photography, and documented the cooking process. Enjoy. I was getting hungry again just looking at the photos. Much to my dismay, since I had to leave early the next morning, I didn’t get any leftovers. Oh well, she’s already planning a feast for Christmas. 🙂

_DSC6294.JPG

Cranberries and sugar, right before cooking

Crushed Speculaas cookies for the pie crust

_DSC6298.JPG

_DSC6313.JPG

_DSC6343.JPG

_DSC6349.JPG

_DSC6352.JPG

_DSC6360.JPG

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 9, 2011 in Life in the Dam, Photo Posts

 

One response to “Thanksgiving

  1. gingagma

    December 11, 2011 at 08:19

    food photography is looking good Jason! Stoked I got a mention, gutted I didn’t get to sample…

     

Leave a Reply

 
