RSS

What’s Happening?

22 Nov

I’ve been struggling to write new blog entries recently. It’s not because I haven’t been doing anything, but more like the excitement has worn off. I love it here in Amsterdam, don’t get me wrong. It’s just that, at first, everything is exciting because, “It’s the first time I’m doing X in Amsterdam!” or “This is my first Y while living in Amsterdam!” So I blogged about a lot of it.

Now, rather than being something unique and different, it’s just life. Last night, I had a test in my Dutch class at the Volksuniversiteit, which will determine whether or not I can move on to the next level. Thursday, I’ll take the first of 2 exams in order to get my Dutch driver’s license. This past weekend, Roxy and I (along with some other folks) went ice-skating at an outdoor track. We’d been on the ice less than 2 minutes when a couple collided near us, and the ambulance had to be called to wheel one person off the ice. None of our group fell or sustained any injuries, so all was well.

This upcoming weekend, we’ll be hosting other expats for a typical American Thanksgiving feast. Tomorrow, I’ll be cycling to Albert Cuyp to pick up the turkey, and loading it into my bicycle’s saddlebags for the ride home. On Sunday, I will be flying to Hamburg, Germany, to spend a week there. Roxy will come and meet me on Friday, and we’ll explore some of Hamburg’s Christmas Markets. Churchill will get his first visit to the “pet pension.”

Other trips are planned for the next few months, including Ireland. Once I get my license, we may take a few weekend trips to other cities.

Now that the cold weather is upon us, I’ve determined that I need a hobby. I used to be really into photography, but haven’t really had the urge lately. Everybody and their brother has a photo-blog now, and while I enjoy looking at their pictures, I really have no desire to “make” (as the Dutch would say) any new photos of my own.

Regardless, I need to force myself to get out of the house and into the city. This is where working from home can be annoying. There are many days where, save for walking Churchill, I don’t leave the house. I’ve started walking down to the Coffee Company in Javaplain every couple of days, just to get out of the house and get some fresh air (and some good coffee. Thanks, Senseo, for discontinuing my favorite flavor).

I’m looking forward to the move into our new apartment, if only to get me more into the middle of the city, and surrounded by places to go. I really do love Amsterdam while I’m out in the middle of it, I just need to make myself go more often.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 22, 2011 in Life in the Dam

 

Leave a Reply

 
