RSS

Vakantie!

29 Sep

After spending 2 weeks in the US, I returned back to Amsterdam early Sunday morning. My suitcase was loaded down with cookies, candy, a Wii, and a bunch of clothes. I took advantage of the cheap prices in the US, and the good Euro to Dollar exchange rate, and went on a shopping spree. My wife also requested several items of clothing and shoes be brought back from her stash in St. Louis.

While in the US, I ate at many of my favorite restaurants, visited with friends and family, and enjoyed great home-cooked food from my Mom. She was even kind enough to make me a mini-Thanksgiving feast, since it’s my favorite holiday. I spent just enough time with my niece that we became friends, though I’m sure she’ll have forgotten me by the next time I see her.

Back in Amsterdam, I attended my first Dutch class at the Volksuniversteit on Monday night, and then played sand volleyball with some expats on Wednesday night. This morning I awoke to see that the Atlanta Braves and Boston Red Sox both choked away huge Wild Card leads, and my hometown St. Louis Cardinals will be in the MLB playoffs on Saturday. This is bittersweet for me, mainly because I won’t really be able to watch/follow the first round of the playoffs at all. The reason? On Friday morning, my in-laws arrive, and Saturday we’re jetting off to Rome!

This will be my second trip to Rome this year, and 3rd overall. As far as cities go, Rome isn’t a bad place to visit multiple times. There’s so much to see there. After a few days in Rome, we’ll head to Nice, France, and then Paris, before taking the train back to Amsterdam to enjoy a few days before my wife’s parents head home. I haven’t been to France yet, so perhaps I need to brush up on my French.

One of the things I love most about living in Europe is how easy it is to travel places. After this trip, we have several more in the works, perhaps skiing in the Alps, or FINALLY getting to go to Ireland. A winter trip to a Spanish island sounds great as well. Wherever the destinations are, I’ll be sure to keep racking up my KLM miles 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2011 in Life in the Dam, Life in the USA, Travel

 

2 responses to “Vakantie!

  1. Mike

    October 8, 2011 at 22:25

    Hey there..

    I’m an American guy from Louisville, KY and Raleigh, NC, who’s married to a Belgian. After 15 years together in the States, we now live outside Antwerp with our daughter. If y’all ever find yourselves down hear, let me know. I’m trying to build a group of American/Canadian folks in Holland and N. Belgium to hang out with from time to time. C ya…

    Mike Shier

     
    • thedewaddict

      October 14, 2011 at 11:17

      Hi Mike, thanks for the comment! Antwerp has been on my to-do list for a while, so if we get there, I’ll let you know!

       

Leave a Reply

 
