RSS

London Calling

29 Jun

Last week, I spent a few days in London for business. It was my second time traveling there, last September being my first visit. I’ve never spent more than a few days there at a time, so I’m hardly an expert, but I’ve spent enough time there to form an opinion.

London, like New York, is probably a great place to live. There is plenty to see and do, and the city is quite large, so there are lots of neighborhoods and streets to explore. However, it’s not for me.

I don’t think of Amsterdam as a quiet city, but it really is, especially when compared to London. I don’t miss the noise of traffic, the throngs of people busily walking down a street, or pushing each other to get into a subway. Amsterdam has busy sections, for sure, but nothing compared to London. Even the buses and trams here seem quieter. Life just moves at a slower pace in Amsterdam. This can be maddening sometimes when I want something done, but I enjoy it quite frequently as well.

London, you’re a great city, and I do enjoy visiting you. I just don’t want to live with you every day. The more I travel around Europe (and hopefully I’ll be crossing another city off my ‘to-do list’ quite soon), the more happy I am with my choice to live in Amsterdam.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 29, 2011 in Travel

 

4 responses to “London Calling

  1. Heather

    June 29, 2011 at 17:52

    Yay! Can’t wait to be there in September. I hope it will be the right move for us too!

     
  2. Heather

    July 4, 2011 at 00:01

    Thanks! Question….I am reading Dutch news online and it seems like there are some new immigration laws being talking about. Have you felt anyone who seemed to not like that you were there or had any issues with that? Just wondering. Thanks!

     
    • thedewaddict

      July 4, 2011 at 14:18

      Not at all! To be fair, generally I have little interaction with the Dutch themselves beyond waitresses and store clerks, but when I was going through the process of registering, everyone was very friendly and helpful. Based on my reading of some newspaper articles, the new laws are more geared towards the large number of middle-eastern (Muslim) immigrants who are moving to the Netherlands, as they tend to gather in certain neighborhoods and remain kind of on the outside of the society. The new laws will supposedly make it harder for them to move here, and if they do, will try to force them to integrate more within Dutch society. Other Europeans and North Americans seem to be welcomed.

       

Leave a Reply

 
