RSS

Revenge!

12 May

I had already started on a different blog post today, but got side-tracked by other things. Then, after work, I made a quick run to Albert Heijn for some groceries. Thus, my hell hath started. You see, we have a ongoing feud with one of our neighbors. First, some background and useful information for you:

We live in a large apartment complex, several buildings, each with probably 50-70 apartments in them. The ground floor of our building consists of, besides the entrance and elevators, a large parking garage. Each apartment has its own space, as well as a locked storage room. Our space is towards the front of the building, and our storage room is nowhere near our space. Instead, another apartment has its storage space right by our parking space. Around the garage, every conceivable place where a bike could be parked, there is one. Thus, once we moved in, it was difficult to find a place to park our bikes. The walls by our storage room were full. Luckily, a wall near our parking space seemed to be unused, so we began parking our bikes there. There is a support pillar about 2-3 feet from the wall, but if we work it just right, we can fit both of our bikes between the wall and the pillar.

Shortly after we moved in, we had a brief conversation with the man who has the storage space near our parking space. He asked that we park our bikes in such a way as to not block his door, as evidently he parks his bike inside his storage space. We agreed (even though we weren’t really blocking his door anyway), and all was well. Fast forward a few weeks. We had started parking our bikes in a different alignment to ensure there was plenty of space between our bikes and his door, at least several feet. Here is a (crappy) diagram:

The black part is the walls, pillar, and his door. The blue part is where we park our bikes. The red arrow is the direction his door opens. Generally, neither of our bikes are within 2 feet of the path of his door. Evidently, that’s not good enough for him. He’s moved our bikes before, usually just a few inches. We dealt with it because it was only an annoyance. An annoyance because when he would move our bikes, the locks would get tangled and harder to undo.

Today, when I went to leave, he had moved our bikes about 3 feet farther away. To the point that they were blocking another person’s storage room and car. Not only that, but in him moving the bikes, he damaged mine. The fender on my front wheel got completely bent. I was able to mostly bend it back, but still. Upon returning, I did park my bike in such a way as to completely block his door. Hopefully my bike doesn’t have fresh damage in the morning.

So, readers of my blog (I think I’m up to 12 of you now!), I come to you for guidance. I briefly thought about super-gluing his door closed, but that would cause permanent damage, and I only want to annoy him as much as he has annoyed me. Side note: I do know his address (since it’s posted on his storage door), but he does not know mine. I figure I can wait a few months if need be until we move out before exacting my revenge. My backup plan is to somehow make a wedge of wood (sort of like a door stopper) that I can slide under his door that will make it difficult to open from the outside, but if anybody has a better idea, please let me know.

Also, I’m not really a vengeful person normally, which is why I have no good ideas!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 12, 2011 in Life in the Dam

 

7 responses to “Revenge!

  1. gingagma

    May 12, 2011 at 18:49

    What is the gap like under the door?
    Junk mail is annoying, how about posting junk mail under that door on a daily basis? Harmless revenge…?!?

     
    • thedewaddict

      May 12, 2011 at 18:50

      The gap isn’t very big, but it’s big enough. You have a good idea. We do get lots of junk mail, since we don’t have one of those little stickers on our mailbox.

       
  2. Heather

    May 12, 2011 at 20:03

    Ok, this may sound really silly but have you thought of the alternative? Maybe you could make him feel super guilty for his childishness and vandalism of your property by leaving a note and flowers. Tell him that you can tell that he has been unhappy with the positioning of your bikes since it seems that yours “accidentally” got damaged but you do take great care to not inconvenience him or crowd his space. Ask him if there’s anything else you can do to avoid this unfortunate situation in the future. The reason I say this is two fold. One- I’d hate to see any real unfixable damage happen to your property due to increasing anger and two- revenge probably isn’t a good thing as far as karma goes 🙂 Just a suggestion!

     
    • thedewaddict

      May 12, 2011 at 23:13

      Hmm. That does sound like a mature thing to do, which unfortunately also means it’s highly unlikely that I’ll do it! Perhaps I’ll end up doing nothing, we’ll see what my bike looks like tomorrow.

       
  3. Roxanne

    May 12, 2011 at 20:07

    I say we kick his butt! We have been more than nice to him and even followed his opinion with regards to space. Apparently he just is never satisfied with anything and is selfish!

     
  4. Invader_Stu

    May 13, 2011 at 12:56

    I would wait. You don’t want it escalating more and more. You also lose the moral high ground if you do anything :p

     
    • thedewaddict

      May 13, 2011 at 13:52

      I haven’t done anything yet, and my bike was unharmed this morning. I do very much enjoy the moral high-ground as well….

       

Leave a Reply

 
