RSS

Spuistraat

26 Feb

This afternoon, I braved the rain and mist to head into the Centrum to visit 2 beer stores: De Bierkoning, and the Cracked Kettle. Each store stocks over 1,000 types of beer from around the world. Luckily, they’re only a short walk from each other, both off the same street: Spuistraat.

After purchasing several beers at De Bierkoning, I started walking towards the Cracked Kettle. At this point, I should tell you that I’ve never been a big fan of the idea of living in the Centrum. To me, the Centrum is all about tourists, bars, souvineer shops, red light windows, and of course, coffeeshops. While much of it is dedicated to those things, there are plenty of areas where the tourists don’t really go. Spuistraat seems to be one of those. It was not crowded on a Saturday afternoon, despite being very close to Dam Square. The street was lined with small clothing boutiques, a few little cafes, and some art galleries. Even the buildings themselves were interesting:

We are currently halfway through the 1-year lease on our apartment, and will definitely be moving when the time comes. Previously, I had limited my interest to the Jordaan and De Pijp neighborhoods, but I think I may cautiously start paying attention to apartments in the Centrum.

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, here are my purchases from the beer stores. The 2 German beers are for for my wife’s cousin, who is staying with us. The 2 fruit beers are for my wife, and the rest of the beers are for me.


From L to R – Mongozo Banana, Westmalle Dubbel, Texelse Winterbier, Weihenstephaner Tradition Bayrisch Dunkel, St. Peter’s Irish Cream Stout, a Westmalle gobblet, Newcastle Brown Ale, Hallerndorfer Hausbrauerbier, Ter Dolen Kriek, and 2 Rochefort Trappistes #6s.

 

Leave a Reply

 
