RSS

The Why of Happiness

28 Jan

Recently, I posted on Facebook that I was happy. Not about anything in particular, just in general. I feel that post warrants some explanation. Am I 100% happy with everything in my life? Of course not. I have to work 40 hours a week, and I’m not exactly swimming in pools of money like Scrooge McDuck. My wife has a job now, and while I’m sad that the job takes her away from the apartment (and me) during the day, I know it’s good for her to do something, and she’s meeting people this way too. Having a 2nd paycheck doesn’t hurt, either!

Why am I happy? My day to day life isn’t radically different than it was this time last year. Sure, I ride a bike to the grocery store now as opposed to driving a car, and I work from home rather than in an office, but what else has changed? I think it’s the feeling of living. I’m not exactly one of those people who laments working a desk job, comparing it to dying a slow death, but after 8 years, it can feel like every day is the same as the day before. Sure, I’ll admit that most of my days here are pretty routine, but they’re happening in Amsterdam. Even the most routine day is still part of an adventure.

Some interesting things will be happening in the next few months. My wife’s cousin (and his significant other) are moving to Amsterdam next week. They lived in Boston, so we haven’t spent too much time with them, but we got along really well in the little chunks of time we did spend together. I’m excited to be able to share some little bits of information that we’ve gleaned in the last few months with some people who will be going through what we did. It will be nice to have some family here as well. Then, in mid March, my parents are coming to visit. They plan to spend a few days here in Amsterdam, and then the 4 of us will travel down to Rome for a bit. Roxy and I have been to Rome before, but we’re happy to go back. It’s ROME! The Eternal City! We may have some other visitors over the summer, and then Roxy’s parents are coming next fall/autumn (evidently only Americans call it fall).

I think we’ll be going to Rotterdam tomorrow to visit. I was there earlier this week for work, but I really only got to see the area within 1 block of the train station, so I’m looking forward to seeing more of the city. Just another part of the adventure.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 28, 2011 in Life in the Dam

 

One response to “The Why of Happiness

  1. John does Amsterdam

    January 28, 2011 at 11:25

    I know exactly what you mean… nothing is too radically different than life in the US. But the happiness is there. As is the bike. And the Dutch (language).

     

Leave a Reply

 
