RSS

The time has finally come! (almost)

11 Aug

Roughly 28 hours from now, Roxy and I will board a plane headed to….Newark, NJ.  From there, we will board another plane headed to….Copenhagen, Denmark.  However, in Copenhagen we will board a plane and fly to our new home: Amsterdam, Netherlands.  Sometime around 9:30am on Friday in Amsterdam, we will arrive.  I’m sure the next few days will be busy, with finding a pet store, registering, going through all the governmental red-tape, setting up a bank account, shopping for bicycles, and apartment hunting.

My clothes are mostly packed, I’ve downloaded a few books to my iPad, and things are charging.  I’m sure airport security will love us, since we’ll have 3 laptops, an iPad, and a cat.

It finally sunk in that we’re moving when I sold my car on Monday.  Roxy sold hers on Sunday, so for the last few days we’ve been relying on others to give us rides.  Today is my last day in the office, and we’re going out for a Chinese buffet lunch.  It’s my last chance to pig-out, American-style.  After that, I’ll head home, do some laundry and finish packing, have Chick-Fil-A for dinner, and then head to bed.  My next blog entry will be from Amsterdam!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 11, 2010 in Moving

 

3 responses to “The time has finally come! (almost)

  1. John

    August 11, 2010 at 15:36

    good luck with the last leg of the move, and have a safe flight over!

    … you’ll love it here 🙂

    John

     
  2. thedewaddict

    August 11, 2010 at 16:06

    Thanks John, I hope so!

     
  3. Tom

    August 13, 2010 at 22:18

    Goede reis!

     

Leave a Reply

 
