RSS

Things I Can’t Wait to Miss

27 May

I love my car.  It’s no joke.  You know how in tv commercials, people always talk about how much fun their car is to drive?  I always thought that was marketing BS.  I’ve liked my previous cars, don’t get me wrong.  I started with a 1988 Pontiac Grand Am, and moved up to a 1993 Jeep Grand Cherokee.  I loved my Jeep.  I drove it everywhere, and delivered pizza in it for 3 years in college.  Then the time came to move along, and I bought a 2002 Ford Escape.  Didn’t like that too much, so I switched to a 2004 Mazda 3.  Love it.  I love sitting down behind the wheel and driving.  What I can’t stand, however, are the other drivers.  On a nice day, I feel good after driving home from work.  More often than not, however, I experience several encounters with people who I can only imagine must experience trouble figuring out how to turn a doorknob, much less operate an automobile.  My blood pressure skyrockets, and I get home in a bad mood.

The point of my rambling is that I can’t wait to give up my car and switch to riding a bicycle, and taking the occasional train or tram.   It’s almost impossible to be in a bad mood when you’re riding a bicycle, especially when you’re cruising down a brick street next to a canal.

I also can’t wait to miss American TV.  This is not a critique of the quality of American TV, but mostly that I sometimes feel like I’ve become a slave to it.  When I got my first TiVo years ago, I thought it was supposed to help “free” me from the scheduling of TV.  Wrong!  It just made me watch more.  Suddenly, shows that I only occasionally watched became ‘Must See TV’, and my television viewing skyrocketed.   Once we move, sure, I’ll keep up with a few of my favorite shows, but hopefully I will use my newfound free time to explore my new home.

One of my hopes for Amsterdam comes from a blog entry I read from another Amsterdam blogger who suggests doing a sort of Pub Crawl, where we go into a pub, have a drink or some food, then leave and go into another one.  The only rule is that you have to go into 1 pub for every 3 you see.  This will force you to try places you wouldn’t ordinarily go.

All in all, I’m excited to try new things (maybe I’ll actually get up early and go running!  Or maybe not.), and break old habits.  Oh yeah, and I’m really looking forward to trying Speculoos!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 27, 2010 in Life in the USA

 

One response to “Things I Can’t Wait to Miss

  1. Tim

    May 27, 2010 at 16:17

    Haha… The blog post on the Speculoos was awesome! I grew up on those cookies… called em “windmill cookies” though. Didn’t know there was a sandwich spread.

    Totally agree on the TV thing though… Cancelling my cable was the best thing I could do. Hulu and Netflix still control my time occasionally, but I’m only watching maybe an hour of TV a day now.

     

Leave a Reply

 
